Carlos Alcaraz king of the lawn, the summary of the fortnight

Estimated read time 4 min read

Sunday July 16, a huge sensation took place during the men’s final of this Wimbledon 2023. Carlos Alcaraz overcame Novak Djokovic after a magnificent meeting.

Carlos Alcaraz achieved the unthinkable by winning the third Grand Slam of the year. Not necessarily a follower of grass, the world number 1 overturned on the Center Court Novak Djokovic in five innings and 4h43 of play, he who had been undefeated for 10 years. He had not lost for 38 games and remained on 4 consecutive titles. “Nole” was aiming for an 8th crown thus equalizing a certain Roger Federer and a 24th Major. The feat achieved by the Spaniard is therefore colossal. At only 20 years old, he lifted a second Grand Slam trophy and retains his place as world number 1 more than ever.

In the last four, the new Wimbledon winner had dominated Daniil Medvedev who had held his rank. Powerless, the Russian had been rolled by the native of El Palmar like Holger Rune. The duel between the two men of the same generation had to be iconic, it was one-sided in favor of the Iberian. Daniil Medvedev could have challenged Stefanos Tsitsipas, but the Greek succumbed to the revelation of this Wimbledon, the American Christopher Eubanks (quarter-finalist). The world number 5 had however made a journey strewn with pitfalls by taking the upper hand in 5 sets over Dominic Thiem first and Andy Murray Next. Casper Ruud continued to alternate good and less good while the French were slightly better than at Roland Garros. It is also at Wimbledon that Jérémy Chardy said goodbye. The tricolor ended his career as Anett Kontaveit in girls.

Vondrusava, the surprise

If the men’s final is a little surprise, what about the women’s? Ons Jabeur was the big favorite as she eliminated defending champion Elena Rybakina then world number 2 Aryna Sabalenka. She had climbed for the second consecutive time in the final in London. Opposite, there was Marketa Vondrousova who was the surprise guest of this tournament. The Czech was dazzling on the court. She remained focused and did not fail mentally unlike the Tunisian who again missed an opportunity.

The new 10th in the world surpassed Elina Svitolina in the semi-final, who will remain one of the satisfactions of this Wimbledon 2023. The Ukrainian returned to the top level, surpassing confirmed players such as Victoria Azarenka or the world number 1, Iga Swiatek. The Polish has progressed on this surface. However, it is less efficient than on clay. Gaël Monfils’ wife also tamed Venus Williams in the first round, who was returning to the field at the age of 42. Caroline Garcia was once again disappointing. The other tricolors animated the fortnight during the first days.

A few organizational hiccups

In the end, the tournament went well even if overall there are things to complain about, especially regarding the organization of the matches. The first rounds took place over several days due to incessant rain which disrupted the matches. A lot of delay accumulated in the first week. Arthur Fils and Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, for example, only played their first round on Thursday, while some were deciding for a qualification in the 3rd round. The tournament starts on Monday. There are only 3 games left on the Center Court. They start at 2 p.m. due to tradition with the “royal box”. Confined to strict rules, confrontations cannot drag on beyond 11 p.m. because of the neighborhood. This did not prevent the matches from taking place and seeing at the end, a new king and a new queen prevail.

find out more

Find below all the results of the matches of the women’s draw and the men’s draw of Wimbledon. The scores displayed are those of completed matches. Use the search engine to find a result.



What is the Wimbledon record?

Created in 1877 for men (in 1884 for women), the Wimbledon tournament is a historic tennis competition. Since the start of the Open Era in 1968, here is the list of winners of the men’s tournament:

  • 2023: Carlos Alcaraz
  • 2022: Novak Djokovic
  • 2021: Novak Djokovic
  • 2020: tournament canceled
  • 2019: Novak Djokovic
  • 2018: Novak Djokovic
  • 2017: Roger Federer
  • 2016: Andy Murray
  • 2015: Novak Djokovic
  • 2014: Novak Djokovic
  • 2013: Andy Murray
  • 2012: Roger Federer
  • 2011: Novak Djokovic
  • 2010: Rafael Nadal
  • 2009: Roger Federer
  • 2008: Rafael Nadal
  • 2007: Roger Federer
  • 2006: Roger Federer
  • 2005: Roger Federer
  • 2004: Roger Federer
  • 2003: Roger Federer
  • 2002: Lleyton Hewitt
  • 2001: Goran Ivanisevic
  • 2000: Pete Sampras
  • 1999: Pete Sampras
  • 1998: Pete Sampras
  • 1997: Pete Sampras
  • 1996: Richard Krajicek
  • 1995: Pete Sampras
  • 1994: Pete Sampras
  • 1993: Pete Sampras
  • 1992: Andre Agassi
  • 1991: Michael Stitch
  • 1990: Stefan Edberg
  • 1989: Boris Becker
  • 1988: Stefan Edberg
  • 1987: Pat Cash
  • 1986: Boris Becker
  • 1985: Boris Becker
  • 1984: John Mcenroe
  • 1983: John McEnroe
  • 1982: Jimmy Connors
  • 1981: John McEnroe
  • 1980: Bjorn Borg
  • 1979: Bjorn Borg
  • 1978: Bjorn Borg
  • 1977: Bjorn Borg
  • 1976: Bjorn Borg
  • 1975: Arthur Ashe
  • 1974: Jimmy Connors
  • 1973: Jan Kodes
  • 1972: Stan Smith
  • 1971: John Newcombe
  • 1970: John Newcombe
  • 1969: Rod Laver
  • 1968: Rod Laver

Source link

You May Also Like

More From Author