composition and full list of ministers

5 min read

Borne government: composition and complete list of ministers

If Elisabeth Borne formed her first government more than a year ago, its composition has changed twice. Rumors are swirling about a new redesign in July 2023.

Soon the hour of the government Terminal number 3? Whether Emmanuel Macron confirmed Elisabeth Borne in her post as Prime Minister via a short press release, “a small reshuffle” should materialize before July 23, 2023 and the departure of the President of the Republic in New Caledonia. “It’s an extension on the sly. It has no new momentum. Borne was pleading for a major reshuffle. This will not be the case. It is not a sign of confidence”, affirms a deputy with France info.

According The world, “only a dozen ministers would be affected by the changes to the government.” Emmanuel Macron had promised a report after 100 days, following the very unpopular pension reform. Finally, no change at the head of Matignon will take place. The new “national impetus” promised last April by the Head of State seems fragile after the social crisis of pensions then the urban violence following the death of Nahel M., at the end of June. Elisabeth Borne appointed a new chief of staff then announced measures for road safety in the summer. A sign of a new beginning?

The formation of the Borne government

The Borne government was formed on May 20, 2022, the day after thepresidential election. It was modified and expanded on July 4, 2022, following the legislative elections. A new team was therefore set up, but without any major renewal: out of 41 personalities, 19 entered, three of whom had already participated in a government under the first term of Emmanuel Macron. The main positions remained in the hands of the same ministers: Bruno Le Maire remained Minister of the Economy, Gérald Darmanin remained Minister of the Interior and Eric Dupont-Moretti remained Minister of Justice. The number of ministers has increased from 36 to 41.

A few important portfolios changed hands in July 2022: Christophe Bechu was promoted to the Ministry of Ecological Transition, where he replaced Amélie de Montchalin, who was forced to leave the government following her defeat in the legislative elections. The post of Minister of Health of Brigitte Bourguignon, also forced to resign, was recovered by a newcomer to the government, the emergency doctor François Braun. Olivier Véran became the government spokesperson, whileOlivia Gregoire was appointed to Bercy as Minister Delegate. Franck Riester has taken over Olivier Véran’s post as Minister Delegate in charge of relations with Parliament, while Clément Beaune has been appointed to Transport.

The new government formed on July 4, 2022 is made up of 41 posts: there are then 16 ministers, 15 delegate ministers and 10 secretaries of state. Parity is perfect within the Borne 2 government, with 21 men and 21 women including the Prime Minister. But on closer inspection, women are in the minority in positions of greater responsibility, with only 5 women ministers for 11 men. The High Council for Equality between Women and Men deplored that four of the five sovereign ministries are headed by men, while seven of the nine social ministries are assigned to women. This confirms “gender bias and gender stereotypes” according to the independent body.

Of the forty positions appointed on July 4 in this Borne government, 19 are occupied by new members, including three, however, by former ministers of Emmanuel Macron, back in the executive but in different positions. . Finally, four ministers and secretaries of state left the Borne government following the reshuffle.

On July 28, 2022, the Minister Delegate in charge of Local Authorities, Caroline Cayeux, resigned, for a disagreement with the High Authority for the transparency of public life. She was replaced by Dominique Faure.

  • Bruno LE MAIRE, Minister of Economy, Finance and Industrial and Digital Sovereignty
  • Gérald DARMANIN, Minister of the Interior and Overseas
  • Catherine COLONNA, Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs
  • Eric DUPOND-MORETTI, Keeper of the Seals, Minister of Justice
  • Sebastien LECORNUMinister of the Armed Forces
  • Olivier DUSSOPT, Minister of Labour, Full Employment and Integration
  • Pap NDIAYE, Minister of National Education and Youth
  • Sylvie RETAILLEAU, Minister of Higher Education and Research
  • Marc FESNEAU, Minister of Agriculture and Food Sovereignty
  • Christophe BECHU, Minister for Ecological Transition and Territorial Cohesion
  • Agnès PANNIER-RUNACHER, Minister for Energy Transition
  • Rima ABDUL-MALAK, Minister of Culture
  • François BRAUN, Minister of Health and Prevention
  • Jean-Christophe COMBE, Minister of Solidarity, Autonomy and People with Disabilities
  • Stanislas GUERINI, Minister of Transformation and Public Service
  • Amélie OUDEA-CASTERA, Minister of Sports and the Olympic and Paralympic Games
  • Olivier VERAN, in charge of Democratic Renewal, government spokesperson
  • Franck RIESTER, in charge of Relations with Parliament
  • Isabelle ROME, in charge of Gender Equality, Diversity and Equal Opportunities
  • Gabriel ATTALin charge of Public Accounts
  • Roland LESCURE, Head of Industry
  • Jean-Noël BARROT, in charge of Digital Transition and Telecommunications
  • Olivia GREGOIRE, in charge of Small and Medium Enterprises, Trade, Crafts and Tourism
  • Dominique FAURE, in charge of Local Authorities and Rurality
  • Jean-François CARENCO, in charge of Overseas
  • Olivier BECHT, in charge of foreign trade, attractiveness and French people living abroad
  • Carole GRANDJEAN, in charge of Vocational Education and Training
  • Clément BEAUNE, in charge of Transport
  • Olivier KLEIN, in charge of the City and Housing
  • Agnès FIRMIN LE BODO, in charge of Territorial Organization and Health Professions
  • Geneviève DARRIEUSSECQ, responsible for people with disabilities
  • Charlotte CAUBEL, in charge of Childhood
  • Hervé BERVILLE, in charge of the Sea
  • Marlène SCHIAPPA, in charge of Social and Solidarity Economy and Associative Life
  • Sonia BACKES, in charge of Citizenship
  • Laurence BOONE, in charge of Europe
  • Chrysoula ZACHAROPOULOU, in charge of Development, Francophonie and International Partnerships
  • Sarah EL HAIRY, in charge of Youth and Universal National Service
  • Patricia MIRALLES, in charge of Veterans Affairs and Memory
  • Bérangère COUILLARD, in charge of Ecology

Source link

You May Also Like

More From Author